The Conference

Key Dates

Call for Papers open November 5, 2018
Registration opens November 5, 2018
Call for Papers close January 20, 2019
Authors Notified Week beginning February 5, 2019
Authors accept by Friday February 15, 2019
Early Bird Registration closes March 3, 2019
Standard Registration closes March 31, 2019
Late Registration closes April 10, 2019

Keynote Speakers

Erik Boekesteijn

Senior Advisor at the National Library at the Netherlands (KB)

Senior Advisor at the National Library at the Netherlands (KB). Library Avenger. Consultant Public Libraries 2020 and founding father of Public Libraries 2030. Facilitator and consultant for IFLA. Owner of Shanachie Media and producer of This Week in Libraries and ShanachieTours, a worldwide tour of searching for best practice in libraries. Presenter, motivator, musician and author.

Rosie Jones

Director of Student and Library Services, Teesside University

Rosie Jones is the newly appointed Director of Student and Library Services at Teesside University, a University which has a significant positive social, economic and cultural impact on local communities and wider economies. She was previously the Director of Library Services and Open Learn at the Open University, a University driven by its mission to be open to people, places, methods and ideas. She has worked in academic libraries since 2001 in a diverse range of institutions, taking a particular interest in games and learning, information literacy and learning space development.

Traci Engel Lesneski

Principle Architect, MSR Design

A principal with the US-based architecture firm MSR, Traci focuses on design for libraries and learning. She promotes an integrated design approach—equally valuing well-being, building performance, aesthetics, and delight. Recent building projects Traci has led include a 24/7 visual culture, arts, and media creative hub for Haverford College in Pennsylvania and Missoula Montana’s new library and culture house (opening 2020).

Conference Committee

Marian Higgins


Kildare County Library Service

Lorna Dodd

Programme Co-ordinator

Maynooth University

John Shortall

Sponsorship Coordinator

Carlow County Library Service

Fintan Bracken

Sponsorship Coordinator

Institute of Technology Carlow

Eimear McGinn

Programme Committee

Kildare County Library Service

Shona Thoma

Social Media Coordinator

Kildare County Library Service

Lai Ma

Programme Committee

UCD School of Information & Communication Studies

Lorraine Marrey

Programme Committee

Blackrock College

Eimear Evans

Programme Committee

Queens University Belfast


  • sgaasg